*insert clever status including words “quick”, “easy”, and “cheap”*

Another late night…another quick meal.

Didn’t get home until 9:30 and wanted to be eating by 10…JUST managed that.

Last night’s guacamole was looking a little brown, so that was my top priority to use.

I also pulled out of my ‘fridge (aside: I once knew a guy who legitimately thought the proper spelling for refrigerator was ‘fridgerator’) some chopped onions, a frozen pork chop, and leftover home made cheese.

Here’s what I did:

– sauteed onions in olive oil until they were just becoming translucent
-seasoned the (microwave defrosted) pork chop with salt, pepper, dry mustard, crushed red pepper flakes, and garlic powder
-browned the pork in the pan with the onions on both sides, ~3 minutes each side
-topped the pork chop with a thick layer of guacamole
-topped the guacamole with a layer of cheese
-placed the entire pan in the oven at 410 degrees F for 15 minutes

I actually tried to take a picture of this goodness, but my camera batteries died mid shot 😦

To be honest, I was a little bit leery of the pork/guac/cheese combo, but it was really good.  The cheese didn’t melt, but got nice and cripsy brown on top.  I also really enjoyed the warm guac.  Word of caution: I think I undercooked it…so maybe pork isn’t the best thing to try and be super quick with…

It’s okay, though, because I’m now drinking a hot glass of tea in hopes of killing any bacteria from the pork that may be plotting my demise..

Total Cost: $1.70

pork: $0.75 (not organic) (paid $2.00/lb)
guacamole: $0.75 (used ~1/4 of the original amount of guac)
cheese: $0.20 (probably used 1/4 of the 1/4 that was left)

 

Leave a Reply

