When All Else Fails, Make Soup

today's ingredients

*sigh*

Today’s meal was a bit of a comedy of errors.

I came home very excited to make pumpkin barley with thick chunks of potato, chick peas, and onions stirred in.

I somehow ended up with this:

not what I had expected

What I ended up with was a pumpkin heavy stew that NEEDED those chickpeas and onions I roasted.  Fortunately, it tasted pretty good.

As I said, I really wanted barley.  I failed, miserably, at making that work.  I added far too much water, added the potatoes too early, and everything turned into mush.  I then thought that I could maybe make this into mashed potatoes and barley.  yeah, no.  Way too much water for that, and at this point I didn’t see an easy way to drain it.  I added the left over sauce from the pumpkin pasta in an attempt to thicken this up.  It did thicken a little bit, but not nearly enough to be anything other than thin mush.  As a last resort, I stirred in the pumpkin to see what would happen.  To my amazement, a thick stew formed.  I tasted it, though, and it needed something.  It frankly tasted lifeless.  I added chipotle chili powder and nutmeg.  This helped a ton, but still not enough.

needs a little green, huh?

While making the barley, I had put one of my favorite stand bys in the oven- chickpeas coated in olive oil, salt, pepper, cumin, garlic, and crushed red pepper flakes.  For a little bit more flavor, i placed onion slices on top of the chick peas.

hummus bites

I let these roast at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes, stirring them about 10 minutes in.

As I was pondering what my soup needed, I tried a bite of the two together.  It reminded me of this quirky cookie I made for my German class in high school that no one liked.  It was pumpkin and onion filled and delcious.

Behold, my dinner had been made.  Not at all what I expected, but sometimes that’s okay 🙂

I’m not sure I can come up with a price on this meal, since it’s all bits and pieces of previous meals.  My estimation is less than $3.00 total, which is nice considering I have enough left over for 3+ meals.

Leave a Reply

