Squash Part I

I feel as though this may be a multi-part series.  I have A LOT of squash.

tonight's ingredients

At first I was thinking I would maybe make butternut squash soup since I have soo much squash.  At the same time, though, I was really feeling fried potatoes with that salad.  After a bit of brainstorming I decided to make squash latkes.

Definitely one of my best meals in February 🙂

To add a little bit of protein to my salad, I decided to fry a couple eggs to throw on top of the salad, too.

The star of my salad, by far, was these latkes.  They were SO good.  Here’s what I did:

Butternut Squash Latkes
-In a small bowl, combine 2 grated potatoes, half a grated onion, and 1 large garlic clove (pressed or finely chopped)
-mix in 3/4 cup butternut squash and cumin, salt, and pepper, to taste

mix mix mix

-Form into patties and place onto a well oiled frying pan at medium heat

hexagonal close packing (sort of )

 

-cook on both sides, about a minute each side to begin.  Continue flipping periodically until you reach the desired crispness

golden goodness

That’s actually it…it was ridiculously easy!

To complete the meal, I placed two fried eggs and two of these cakes on top of romaine lettuce and drizzled it with a little balsamic vinegar.

yum 🙂

 

This ended up being a pretty cheap meal!

Total Price: $1.81
eggs: $0.33
squash: $0.13 (used 1/8 of my squash, paid $1.00)
romaine: $0.35 (total estimate, but definitely less than $0.50)
potatoes: $0.60
onion: $0.30
garlic: $0.10 (paid $0.84, has at least 8 cloves)

ohh, and I still have 2 more latkes!!

2 responses »

  1. ONLY $1.81?! Wow. Who would’ve thought latkes were so easy to make? I really enjoy your blog because so many people don’t even consider buying organic just because “organic food is so expensive”. What they don’t realize is once they split up all the ingredients, they get a lot more bang for their buck then they would if they ate at a restaurant with pesticide-ridden foods.

Leave a Reply

