Whole Wheat Sourdough Cornmeal Squash Seed Bread

Yeah, that’s a lot of adjectives.

yumm

However, don’t be fooled by the number of ingredients.  This bread is simple and amazing.  The cornmeal and squash seeds impart a really satisfying crunch into the bread.  As an aside:  I never understood using the word “satisfying” to describe something like “crunch” until I tried this bread.  It was definitely an “Aha!” moment.  The loaf itself came out smaller than the sourdough.  I don’t know if that’s the nature of the bread, with the cornmeal, or if it had something to do with the rising process.  I think my second rise may have been a bit short.  Either way, I’m not too worried about it.  The process for making the bread is the exact same as I already described here.  The ingredients, however, have changed a bit:

Sourdough Cornmeal Squash Seed Bread Ingredients

2/3 cup sourdough starter
1-1/3 cups warm water
1-3/4 cups whole wheat bread flour
3/4 cup cornmeal
1/2 cup wheat flour
2 tsp sea salt
1/3 cup pumpkin seeds (I used (surprise) butternut squash seeds)

The only difficult thing about making this bread was that the dough was much stickier.  This is apparently due to the replacement of wheat flour with cornmeal.  It did make it a little bit difficult to work with, so I would suggest using one of those bread scrapers, if you have one.

Other lesson learned:  when you create a steam bath in the oven, don’t use a porcelin baking pan.  Being chemists you would think we would have realized this, but we cracked our nice porcelin pan when we added cold water.

Other than that, this bread has a very artisan taste, which is a nice change of pace, especially given the ridiculous price tag “artisan” usually carries.

Total Cost: $1.50

starter (fed twice): $0.10 (here’s my rationalization:  $0.40 worth of flour was added, but about 1/4 of the starter was used)
bread flour: $0.77
corn meal: $0.37 (complete estimate.  don’t remember how much I paid, so assuming $4/5 lbs)
wheat flour: $0.21
seeds: $0.05 (again, estimate.  I paid $1.00 for two squashes and this is really just a by product)

My last loaf of bread lasted me 5 days, so, $0.30/day?

Leave a Reply

