DIY Yogurt

I have always turned my nose up at plain yogurt.

I take that back.  I turned my nose up once I realized plain yogurt is different than vanilla yogurt.  (aside:  If vanilla wasn’t white, do you think it would be considered less plain?  This is a question I ask myself often).

Anyway, I was a little bit skeptical about making my own plainyogurt, but I figured for the amount of money I would be saving, it would be worth a try.

This recipe is also adapted from DIY Delicious by Vanessa Barrington

Organic Yogurt

special equipment needed: candy thermometer, sanitized quart sized mason jar (place in boiling water for 5 minutes), water bath heated to 90-100 degrees C, plain yogurt (for cultures)

-pour 1 quart milk (I used 2%) into a saucepan

why does a picture of milk in a saucpan improve this blog?

slowly heat the milk to 185 degrees C.  (It’s really easy to scorch the milk when it’s in a sauce pan)
-hold the milk at 185 degrees C for 5 minutes.
-let cool to 115 degrees C
-place 2 tablespoons plain yogurt in mason jar
-add 1/2 cup milk to mason jar at a time and whisk
-once all the milk is added, place mason jar in water bath and let sit for 8 hours.

One thing I do is make the yogurt before bed, throw the water bath in the oven, and just turn the oven light on.  It keeps the water warm enough.

I really like  this plain yogurt.  It is definitely less tangy than store bought plain yogurt, which is great for me.  I don’t think I could eat it plain..it has a bit of a milky/cheesy taste.

Yogurt ideas:

-mix in almond butter, honey, bananas (my favorite)
-spread on pancakes or toast
-use to thicken sauces
-freeze with almond butter mixed in for frozen yogurt!!

Total Price: $1.50/quart

Leave a Reply

