Breakfast Dilemma

If you’ve been following me all month you know that I ran out of grocery money a few weeks ago.  I’ve actually been doing pretty well with this, except that today I ran out of breakfast food.

Well, that’s not exactly true.

I have 5 boxes of cereal but no milk, yogurt, oatmeal, bread, etc.

After taking a quick look through the pantry I decided to turn this month’s standby, barley, into breakfast.

By pairing it with pumpkin and adding honey, brown sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg it turned out pretty great!  It doesn’t taste as sweet as it would if you added all the same ingredients to, say, oatmeal, but I’m okay with that.

current pantry inhabitants

I made enough for breakfast the next few days, so that will be especially nice to not have to prepare anything.

Sweet Pumpkin Barley

-boil 1 cup barley until it absorbs all the cooking water (I probably used 3 cups and this took ~20 minutes)

it's amazing how a little bit of pumpkin makes this look so much more appetizing

-once the water has been absorbed, add 1-1/4 cups canned pumpkin, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, 1 tablespoon honey, and cinnmaon and nutmeg to taste

this makes me wish it was fall

 

Total Cost: $2.78

organic pumpkin: $1.25
organic barley: $0.78
organic brown sugar, honey, spices: no clue (let’s say AT MOST $0.75 (and I feel like that’s just being overly cautious)

I ate ~1/3 of this and still have plenty for two more breakfasts

Leave a Reply

