Black Bean Burgers with Roasted Parsnips and White Balsamic Spinach Pesto

geniuses pick green

I don’t remember how I came up with this idea but I’m so glad I did.

On another note: I freaking LOVE parsnips.  They’re so versatile!  I think roasting may be my favorite method though.

I was talking to my old roommate, Dani, today and she asked me what I made for dinner.   I love the response people have because they think the things I make sound so gourmet.  They’re really not.  They’re actually all quite easy and usually pretty quick.  Tonight’s meal?  I started at 8:53 and sat down to eat in time for the runway portion of Project Runway tonight.

Black Bean Burgers

I made these differently than last time and I think I preferred the first time.  Definitely better with avocado but tonight I just used what I had.

-in a food processor combine 1 can (drained) black beans, 1/8 of a red onion, 1 garlic clove, crushed red pepper, salt, cumin, and cornmeal.  Be careful with the cornmeal.  I probably added 1 cup + and it was way too much since there weren’t many wet ingredients in this.  Combine until you reach a non-sticky consistency.
-Form into patties and place on a roasting tin.
-Place in the oven at 400 degrees C and roast for 15-20 minutse or until a hard crust forms.

I made them smaller this time so I'd have more leftovers 🙂

White Balsamic Spinach Pesto

in a blender, food processor, or hand blender container combine 2 cups spinach, a chunk of parmesan cheese, 1 tablespoon olive oil, and 1 tablespoon white balsamic vinegar.
-blend

sooooooo goooood

Roasted Parsnips

quarter 6 parsnips
-toss in olive oil
-roast at 400 degrees C for 15-20 minutes or until slightly charred

finished plate!

Too bad my life goal of having a midlife crisis, going to culinary school, and becoming a head chef somewhere will likely never be achieved since my food isn’t the most attractive haha.

Total Cost: $5.13

Black Bean Burgers (7): $2.11

-1 can organic black beans: $1.39
-1/8 organic red onion: $0.12
-1 clove organic garlic: $0.10
cornmeal:$0.50 (?)

Spinach Pesto: <$2.00

2 cups organic spinach: $0.75
-1 chunk of parmesan cheese: (no idea, I bought this cheese in September)
-oil/vinegar: no clue

Roasted Parsnips:

-6 organic parsnips:$1.02

 

Leave a Reply

