Black Bean Garden Chili

I really wish I had a picture of this one.

The color of this chili turned out to be such a pretty shade of dark red/black.

Also, I feel pretty fortunate I have Becca to provide names for my food (let’s be honest, do you think I came up with sweet potato latke on my own?) because every time she does it inspires me to do something different.  Case in point:  I hadn’t thought of this dish as chili but when she called it that I decided to put some chipotle chili powder in the soup and that was a marvelous touch to an already tasty soup.

Black Bean Garden Chili

-combine 1 can black beans, 2 cups water, 7 chopped tomatoes and their juices, 2 diced parsnips, 2 stalks of kale, dry pasta,  a diced potato, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and chipotle chili powder.
-let simmer for 30-40 minutes

Seriously, it’s that easy and a totally tunable recipe depending on your tastes.

Total Cost: $4.80

organic black beans: $1.39
organic roma tomatoes: $2.52
organic parsnips: $0.34
organic kale: $0.40
1/4 box of pastsa: $0.25
organic potato: $0.30

This made 3 bowls for dinner and 1 generous bowl for lunch.

Leave a Reply

