Quinoa with Swiss Chard, Onion, and Garlic

Quinoa is something I have always liked when other people make it, but hate when I make it myself.  My old roommate, Jayne, would make a great toubleh using quinoa that I have never been able to reproduce.  Becca makes really great quinoa, especially when she uses left overs for fried rice.  I, on the other hand, always make quinoa that tastes bitter.  Fortunately, Becca let me in on her secret of using chicken consomme in the water and I can finally make a dish that doesn’t taste like disgusting health food!

Quinoa has been a really easy go to for me lately.  Since it’s so high in protein I’ve been eating it right before mid day runs.  I’ve found that cumin goes really well with the grain, as does crushed red pepper.  (okay, let’s be honest, what doesn’t go well with those?).

It’s a great meal when you don’t have/want to eat meat and you’re lacking the time/energy/supplies of other protein options.  I also like to make it when I have veggies that I need to get rid of- just throw them in with the pot and let them boil down!

Quinoa

-add quinoa and water to a pot, pour consomme in according to directions, and bring to a boil
-add chopped onion, garlic, and swiss chard
-season with salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and cumin

🙂

This looks especially appetizing when you have a lot of color to throw in.  Other vegetables that would go really well are spinach, potatoes, bell peppers, edamame, parsnips, carrots…really I can’t think of anything that WOULDN’T go well.  I unfortunately don’t have a price for this because I lost my receipt from the grocery trip when I bought the quinoa.  All in all, I think this is definitely less than $2.00 on those two plates.

Leave a Reply

