CSA!

3 months ago if you had thrown that abbreviation at me I would have probably thought you were talking about some dumb law and order tv show. 

After doing a lot of research into my new organic lifestyle, I’ve come to know those letters as “community supported agriculture” and I think it’s pretty neat.  Basically, you pay a farm a share and they provide you with produce- a rotating selection of what’s fresh at the moment. 

I decided to take the plunge tonight and find a CSA (aka I saw an ad for a couple in the bloomingfoods newsletter).  I ended up with one that will provide produce for 28 weeks from April – October for $16.75/week.  My weekly grocery budget is ~$28/week, so I think that still leaves me plenty of leeway.  After taking a look at the website for the farm I chose, LIFE certified organic farm, I’m pretty excited about it! 

Here are a couple random weeks from thier tentative plan:

-week of April 20th:  lettuce, asian greens, kale, beets, green onions,
-week of May 4th:  spinach, lettuce, radishes, japanese turnip, green onions,  herbs
-week of June 1st:  lettuce, kale, collards, radishes, green onions, garlic scapes, cherry tomatoes
-week of July 6th:  basil, garlic, cucumbers, tomato, pepper, watermelon, potato
-week of August 5th: heirloom tomato, eggplant, pepper, melon, watermelon, potato
-week of September 7th: chard, cucumber, summer squash, cherry tomatoes, tomato, potato
-week of October 5th:  lettuce, arugula, kale, potato, sweet potato, winter squash

Pick ups are every Friday…I can’t wait!  I think this is the perfect option for someone who wants reliable produce at a crazy affordable price and can be flexible with what they buy.  I don’t know how much of each item you get, but for $16.75 I’d say it’s a pretty good deal. 

Here’s to hoping so, anyway 🙂

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

