Roasted Black Bean Garden Salad with Fried Eggs

so. freaking. good.

I have become my mother’s daughter.

Things I have never understood about my mom include her extreme propensity for hot tea and wilted salads (not combined).  (Fortunately I haven’t picked up her habit of drinking warm milk yet).

I made this salad tonight for a few different reasons.  One, it was a chilly, kind of gloomy night.  It’s been in the 80’s here recently and today was rainy with a high of 60.  I had a long day and sometimes I just want a hot meal to sit down with in front of the tv.  Another reason I chose this is because I am sick of grains today.  For breakfast I had two bowls of shredded wheat, lunch was a big bowl of oatmeal, and my pre run snack was quinoa.  I was grained out!

I made this dish a few days ago and LOVED it.  Becca spent 4 months in Costa Rica and said the flavors are reminiscent of what she would eat there.  I am currently smitten.

Today I was going to add garbanzo beans, but somehow am out, so for some extra protein I added two fried eggs.  What’s nice about this dish is that it can be modified to include anything you have in your refrigerator.  The seasonings are simple and for most people, pantry basics.

Roasted Black Bean Garden Salad with Fried Eggs

preheat the oven to 400 degrees C
-in an oven safe dish combine 15 oz of can drained black beans (what I mean by “can drained” is leave some of the black murky liquid- it adds flavor to the rest of the salad), half a chopped onion, 2 chopped tomatoes, 1 diced garlic clove, 3 stalks of chopped swiss chard (stems and leaves), 1 corn tortilla cut into strips
-add olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and cumin; toss
-let roast for 15-20 minutes; fry eggs last 5 minutes of roasting

tomatoes and black beans

+ onion, swiss chard, garlic, and corn tortilla

+olive oil, balsamic vinegar, salt, pepper, cumin, crushed red pepper

I only added this picture because I want to show off how cute my egg pan is

Total Cost: $3.50

1 can organic black beans: $1.39
-1/2 organic onion: $0.15
-1 clove organic garlic: $0.10
-3 stalks swiss chard: $0.90
-1 corn tortilla: $0.04
-2 organic roma tomatoes: $0.72
-2 all natural eggs: $0.32

and I still have 1/4 left for lunch tomorrow! 🙂

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

