Shorties

Sooo busy lately!  I got to go home over the weekend and eat my mom’s amazing food. 

Best thing I had?  everything?  I seriously can’t decide.  I did eat 4 pieces of pie and two pieces of banana cake.  The pie was probably the best, though, because my mom makes, by far, the best pie crust I have ever tasted. 

I haven’t been cooking many noteworthy things lately.  My mom sent back with me a lot of leftovers, including half of a rotisserie chicken.  I made chicken  noodle soup with brown rice last night which was the perfect accompaniment to the cold, dreary days we’ve been having lately. 

Chicken Soup with Brown Rice
in a pot, add 4 cups water, half a rotisserie chicken (shredded), 1/2 diced onion, 1 clove diced garlic, 1 cup brown rice, 2 stalks celery
-let boil until rice is tender
-season to taste

I’ve never made chicken soup before and have always been impressed when people say they have.  It’s really nothing to be afraid of and actually incredibly easy.  Considering I got the chicken for free, my total price was probably pretty darn cheap. 

I went grocery shopping yesterday.  Up to this point, I had only spent $39 for the month.  I was running pretty low on food.  I spent more than normal yesterday, but I got food that will last. 

I’ve been eating more meat the past few days, since my  mom gave me so much to bring home.  I do like meat, but I feel healthier now that I eat less.  I will say, though, that eating meat at lunch and dinner has seemed to make me feel much more full.  Maybe I need to put more protein in my diet?  

Besides the health benefits, I really like knowing that I’m helping the environment a little bit.  I won’t go into too much detail, so if you’re interested, you can go to http://earth911.com/news/2012/04/09/how-vegan-and-vegetarian-diets-help-the-environment/ for more info (don’t know why the link button wasn’t working!).  Hearing about how low quality the meat sold in most grocery stores also scares me.  Pink slime for ground beef?  yuck. Witih the little bit of meat I have eaten this semester, I have noticed a huge difference in the quality. 

The other huge benefit I have noticed from being a quasi vegetarian is what it has done for my wallet!  I used to eat at least 2 lbs of meat a week because I thought you had to (gross, I know).  That’s, at the very least, $4 extra every week.  What’s that at the end of the year?  $208. 

Are you someone who doesn’t think they could ever go without meat at every meal?  I promise I used to be the same way and it’s not that hard to change if you’re interested.  Give it a week or two and you’ll notice a huge difference. 

So, what did I buy at the grocery store this week?

Image

1.5 lbs organic turbinado sugar- $3.79
I’m so into this sugar right now.  It’s just like brown sugar but crunchier and less syrupy.  It’s a little bit more expensive, but totally worth it. 
3.3 lbs organic Garnet sweet potatoes- $5.27 ($1.19/lb)
These are my new favorite sweet potatoes.  They have a floral taste with an intense color.  
5 lbs organic Russett potatoes – $3.99
Potatoes are one thing I absolutely refuse to non organic now.  I’m excited I got such a good price, too. 
.87 lbs organic flax seeds – $1.38 ($1.59/lb)
I’ve never bought flax seeds before, but I’m a little low in iron and I’ve heard those are very good for that. 
1.46 lbs organic celery – $1.30 ($0.89/lb)
I only buy celery when it’s on sale, so I was happy to see it so cheap.  I love celery for soup!
32 oz organic plain yogurt- $2.79
Until the semester is over, I’ve given up on making my own yogurt.  I’ve grown to love plain yogurt.  It’s so much tastier and doesn’t have that sugar aftertaste in the back of your throat! 
2.24 lbs organic banana- $2.22 (.99/lb)
I miss the days when bananas were $0.60 a pound!!!
1 lb ground buffalo manager’s special 30% off– $7.06
This is more expensive than last time but honestly, I don’t mind paying a little bit more for such high quaity meat
2 x organic black beans – $1.39 each
I need to start buying dry black beans and cooking them myself…maybe I’ll start this summer when I have more time
1 gallon organic milk- $6.69
I would like for organic milk to go on sale again….
+5% discount = -$2.26

Total price: $33.01

Leave a Reply

