Lazy Girl Organic

..except that my plan went horribly wrong!

My goal was to use my new rice cooker and my not new food processor in an attempt to save time.  check.  What I didn’t anticipate was that it was going to take me almost an hour cleaning up all the food I burned in my new cast iron pan.  oh well.  it was totally worth it.

What did I make?

Well, I was going to make squash/potato/onion/garlic latkes.

before

except that it turned out looking like this:

after

I promise you this tasted good.  Once the bottom started burning, I abandoned the idea of latkes and made it a scramble.  I had planned to make fried eggs to neatly place on top, but instead I added them to the pan.  This, of course, did not help the mess of the pan.

I did enjoy using my rice cooker, though!!  It was definitely nice to not have to worry about burning the rice.  Thanks, Jill!!

Squash and Egg Scramble
-combine shredded squash, onion, potato, salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and garlic (I used a food processor)
-form into latkes
-fry in olive oil
-abandon plan and scramble
-add two eggs and continue scramble
-add copious amounts of salt
-serve over brown rice

Total Price:$1.98

-1 cup organic brown rice – $0.75
-3/4 cup organic squash- $0.15
-2 organic potatoes- $0.53
-1/2 organic onion- $0.15
-1 clove garlic- $0.10
-2 eggs- $0.30

2 responses »

  1. I have had this happen to me far too many times…but the flavors sound like a nice pairing and I am sure it tasted delish! Love how you improvised and made it work 🙂

    ps: obsessed with my rice cooker…best purchase ever!

  2. You are supposed to “season” the pan first if it is anything like my wok. It’s not too late to do that. And the before shot did look good. No one would have been any the wiser if you just had one photo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

