Squash Pasta with Oysters

Ha, this ended up being a disaster of a night but damn this was good pasta.

I don’t know why I always decide to make pasta on the nights I’m starving.  Don’t get me wrong, pasta isn’t a meal that takes hours, but when you make it from scratach it is a bit time consuming.  I thought I was being smart by making the dough and then letting it rest while I went to the grocery store.  Indeed, that was smart.  However, nothing went right after that.

Part of the problem is that I never follow pasta directions to a T.  I think this, from now on, will be a mandatory rule.  If the dough is not perfect, it can be very difficult to use with a machine.  If you are having problems, though, you can just roll it out by hand and cut it with a knife like I ended up doing.  (note that the tom and jerry glass served as my rolling pin haha)

pretty orange

Squash Pasta

-mix 3/4 cup cooked squash, 1-1/2 cup semolina flour, 1-1/2 cup whole wheat flour
-let rest for at least 30 minutes
-roll out according to pasta machine directions or hand roll and cut
-add to boiling water
-add can of oysters
-when ready, top with olive oil, raw sugar, and crushed red pepper

Unfortunately I don’t have a total price because I have no clue how much I paid for the semolina flour.  I have to imagine it was probably between a dollar or two’s worth.  The squash was probably $0.15’s worth.  Maybe $0.80 for the wheat flour, <$2.00 for the oysters.

All in all, considering I got 4 meals (two dinneres, two lunches) out of this recipe, I’d say I did pretty well.

Leave a Reply

