Organic pumpkin-flaxseed-walnut muffins

I know what you’re thinking.

A post on a Saturday morning?  After how you didn’t sleep for weeks cramming for finals?

Well, it turns out if I have things to do, I can sleep all day.  Not so true if I don’t have anything planned.

The good news?  It’s 10:30 and I’ve already gotten an 8 mile run in and stopped at the farmer’s market to meet the people who run the CSA I’ve joined.

Last night we made the best muffins ever.  I bought flaxseed a long time ago and have been meaning to use it.  Becca suggested muffins a while back..plus I had one can of pumpkin still lingering, so I figured those two would make a good combination.  The recipe I used is loosely adapted from this website.

Organic pumpkin-flaxseed-walnut muffins

-mix 3 eggs, 1 smashed banana, 1 can (15 oz) pumpkin, 1/2 cup water
-mix in 1-1/2 tsp baking soda, 1 cup raw sugar, 1 tsp salt, 3/4 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 tsp nutmeg, a dash of allspice and a dash of clove
-combine with 1 cup whole wheat flour, 3/4 cup flax seeds, 3/4 cup ground walnuts
-bake in muffin tin for 30 minutes at 350 degrees C

These aren’t the kind of muffins that you would crave if you had a sweet tooth, rather the hippie-dippie kind that are good for you in a ‘keep ya reg’lar’ sort of way.   The raw sugar adds just enough of a sweet crunch to keep your sugar cravings satisfied.

Total Cost: $6.94

-3 organic eggs: $0.50
-1 cup organic whole wheat flour: $0.26
-1 organic banana: $0.37
-1 can organic pumpkin: $2.20
-1 cup raw sugar: $1.26
-3/4 cup flax seed: $0.34
-3/4 cup walnut flour: $2.07
-spices: $0.25 (?)

The overall price seems bad, but then if you think about it, that equates to $0.58 a muffin.  The biggest cost factor in these were the walnuts, which I think really made the muffins great.

 

