Pickled Beet Salad with Fried Eggs

I realized I never was able to post what I got in my CSA box on Friday!

The CSA is going really well..my pickup is on Friday and every Thursday night I’m usually scrambling to use up what I had from the week before.  I think I also came up with a good way to quantify how much money I’m spending…well, a couple ways.

1.  I walked around the farmer’s market the other day and realized that if I went there to buy the exact same things I get in the box, in the same quantities, I would spend much more.  This makes me happy.  (I think I’m spending more, though, than if I were only buying sale items…jury is still out).

2.  Another way to determine it is to decide how many meals I am able to use my veggies in- for instance, with the lettuce I got this week I have made 5 salads and I have used the mushrooms in 2 meals.  Once I’ve used all the veggies for the week, I’ll be able to see how much money each serving was.  I think last week’s ended up being $0.50 for each serving.  not bad!

Okay, back to the point.  Here’s what I got this week:

lots of green this week!

Here’s what it is:
-a TON of romaine lettuce (you can’t tell that most of it is behind the brown bag)
-green onions
-Shiitake mushrooms
-radishes

So, last Thursday I had an insane amount of veggies left.  I still had 3 beets, 3 turnips, and a whole bag of pok choi.  I decided to pickle everything and see how it turned out!  I’ve never pickled before, so I was pretty confused about everything.  I mixed a couple different recipes…I happen to think it turned out amazing.  Tangy and a little bit sweet, with an amazing color.

Pickled Beets

-chop beets/stalk/greens, toss in olive oil, and roast in the oven at 400 degrees for ~15 minutes
-simmer 1 cup vinegar, 1/2 cup turbinado sugar, 1 1/2 tsp salt, 1 cup water
-chop remaining ingredients while the beets are roasting (I did pok choi, turnips + stalk + greens, and romaine lettuce)
-once beets are out of the oven, layer vegetables in a mason jar and pour liquid over vegetables
-be sure all the vegetables are submerged
-let veggies sit in the refrigerator for at least three days (I ate some after 4, we’ll see if the taste changes at all as the days go on)

 Pickled Beet Salad with Fried Eggs

-combine romaine lettuce, shredded carrot, pickled vegetables, and 1-2 fried eggs
-add olive and salt, if desired
-be sure to soak up some of the purple juice with your fried egg!!

yum 🙂

Total Cost:

Pickled Beets: $3.63

3 organic beets (CSA)- $1.00
-3 organic turnips (CSA)- $1.00
-bag of organic pok choi (CSA)- $1.00
-1/2 cup organic raw sugar: $0.63
-1 cup vinegar: no clue

Pickled Beet Salad with Eggs: $2.14

2 organic eggs: $0.34
-organic romaine lettuce: $1.00
-2 organic carrots: $0.20
-1/6 organic pickled veggies: $0.60

